Introducing me… (again)

My name is Trish.  This blog is a personal project of mine where I am finding my voice.

Professionally, I am available for part-time/short-term freelance/consulting projects.  Use the contact form to send me your proposal/query and we’ll chat.

With respect to my personal blog: I am interested in the pursuit of bettering our lives.  I like to write about issues & activities of interest to me, sometimes doing advocacy work, sometimes to express myself personally.

I have just completed my studies for my post-degree bachelor of Social Work. My two beautiful girlies and I moved back home to Nova Scotia in July of 2006, after having moved around Canada. :) My time has been filled with parenting, studying, and triathlon training.

I have a broad range of interests,  but some of the things you’ll see me post about include: supporting the Canadian Diabetes Association, doing Team Diabetes events; scrapbooking; reading; running; social justice issues of a big range (i.e. poverty, early childhood education, family issues, woman abuse, family violence, child birth options, breastfeeding, healthy relationships, active transportation, sustainable environmental practises, and political reform); parenting; and balancing work with life…

I am currently a registered Social Worker Candidate in Nova Scotia – my focus of interest being community organizing.  I was previously an early childhood educator, child care centre director, and interim director of two not-for-profit agencies (family resource centre and women & children’s transition house).  Early learning & care, family, and women’s issues are all very close to my heart.

I hope you’ll take a moment to leave a comment and introduce yourself as well.  🙂

You can follow my posts by RSS feed, or email (see top right corner of any page).  You can follow me on twitter.com@ceilidhontherun, and I might even friend you on facebook.com/ceilidhontherun if you drop me a note with the friend request.

About Trish

family legacy curator, social justice advocate, blogger, amateur photographer, reader, cyclist, runner & swimmer, mom of two

2 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Edolan
Edolan
11 years ago

Hi Trish!
This is such fun following each other in bloggertown as I like to call it! You can catch my latest at http://phenomenalyouthcanada.blogspot.com/.
So here’s my min profile comment/post for you:
I’m Emily, I have one cat, no kids (can’t have ‘em, but may adopt some day, we’ll see) and I live in York Region, Ontario in a small basement apartment.
I am also a Social Worker (worked on my BSW with yours truly?) and in the midst of starting my MSW at York University. I currently work as the Case Manager and Youth Programs Coordinator at the AIDS Committee of York Region. My passion in this field is community work at the grassroots level. I fell into AIDS work, but it has become a huge part of my life: raising awareness and working with people living with HIV. There is a lot of stigma and discrimination, the whole ‘not in my backyard’ attitude that many people in our society (including healthcare providers and the state) hold creates and maintains a vicious cycle of hatred, poverty, addiction, mental illness, social isolation, and HIV transmission. On the side I work with many community partners, including the Alliance to End Homelessness on a local level, working with other service providers.
Personally: I have a terminal lung and heart disease called Pulmonary Hypertension which is caused by an autoimmune disorder (also a lung disease). As it is a rare disease, I am involved in raising awareness and funds for research for this as well. I am currently being treated with lots of medication, but my disease has progressed recently and I still have a lot of tests to undergo. The last resort is double lung and heart transplant.
This disease limits my ability to do many things, although I do still like to keep as active as possible, I easily get short of breath and have bouts of dizziness, fainting, and chest pain. I used to love to dance, but I can’t anymore.
I like to read, write, and cook. That is pretty much me in a nutshell!!

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 years ago
Reply to  Edolan

Thanks for sharing Emily!